Cala Ratjada - At home with friends


In the 17th Century, the fishing port of the residents VNO Capdepera created. Among other things, mainly skates (ratjadas) and lobsters caught. Although the catch is now limited, Cala Ratjada is still to Palma the second largest fishing port in Mallorca.

From the construction boom in tourism since the early 70s is Cala Ratjada only been recorded very limited. This has the character of a historic fishing village with a harbor.

In the port, where the seaside is lined by a wall, are the typical Balearic Island fishing boats, Llaüts, as well as motor yachts, trawlers and sport sailor. From here, start excursion boats to Cala Millor and Porto Cristo. A speedboat connects the port in 75 minutes with the neighboring island of Menorca. In the vicinity of the village are several popular beaches, including Cala Agulla, Son Moll and Cala Gat.

North of the harbor are the historical lobster houses, white rectangular buildings in which the shellfish prior to sale in seawater tanks were kept alive and today is a historical monument.

On a hill above the village, the tobacco smugglers, dealers, real estate and later banker Juan March (Joan March i ORDINAS) 1911 on the ruins of a watchtower from the 15th Century retreat CEGA Sa Torre (The blind tower) was built.

In the surrounding Villa Park 60,000 sq. m. (Jardines March), the British garden architect Russell Page has created, there was a collection of 40 contemporary sculptures (including Auguste Rodin, Max Bill and Henry Moore). Juan March 1962 is 83-year was killed in a car accident.

With a reservation, visitors can admire the sculptures in the park on the property. In the museum of Paulau March and in the Calle San Miguel are more art objects of the foundations of the March family to see.

Here are some informations about the nearby great golf courts:

Golf Son Servera: Green fee 9 hole: 40 Euro per day, 18 hole 60 Euro per day.
More infos here: www.golfsonservera.com.

The special thing is the teamwork with kids and teenager.

Golf Capdepera: Here are the list of prices .This courts is famous for the restaurant!

Cala Ratjada - Zuhause bei Freunden


Im 17. Jahrhundert wurde der Fischereihafen von den Bewohnern von Capdepera angelegt. Unter anderem wurden vorwiegend Rochen (ratjadas) und Langusten gefangen.
Obwohl die Fangquoten mittlerweile beschränkt sind, ist Cala Ratjada immer noch nach Palma der zweitwichtigste Fischereihafen Mallorcas.

Vom Bauboom im Zuge des Tourismus seit Anfang der 70er Jahre ist Cala Ratjada nur sehr eingeschränkt erfasst worden. Dies hat den Charakter eines historischen Fischerortes mit Hafen erhalten.

Im Hafen, der zur Seeseite von einer Mauer gesäumt ist, dümpeln sowohl die für die Balearen typischen Fischerboote, als auch Motoryachten, Trawler und Sportsegler. Von hier aus starten Ausflugsschiffe nach Cala Millor und Porto Cristo. Ein Schnellboot verbindet den Hafen in 75 Minuten mit der Nachbarinsel Menorca. In der näheren Umgebung des Ortes befinden sich einige beliebte Strände, unter anderem Cala Agulla,Son Moll und Cala Gat.

Nördlich des Hafens sind die historischen Langustenhäuser erhalten, weiße quaderförmige Gebäude, in denen die Schalentiere vor dem Verkauf in Meerwasserbecken lebendig gehalten wurden und heute unter Denkmalschutz gestellt sind.

Auf einem Hügel oberhalb des Ortes hat sich der Tabakschmuggler, Immobilienhändler und spätere Bankier Juan March (Joan March i Ordinas) 1911 auf den Ruinen eines Wachtturms aus dem 15. Jahrhundert das Refugium Sa Torre Cega (Der blinde Turm) erbaut.

In dem die Villa umgebenden 60.000qm großen Park (Jardines March), den der britische Gartenarchitekt Russel Page angelegt hat, befand sich eine Sammlung von ca. 40 zeitgenössischer Skulpturen (u.a. von Auguste Rodin,Max Bill,Henry Moore).
Juan March ist 1962 83-jährig bei einem Autounfall umgekommen.

Mit einer Voranmeldung können Besucher die Skulpturen im Park auf dem Anwesen besichtigen. Im Museum Paulau March und in der Calle Sant Miguel sind weiter Kunstobjekte der Stiftungen der Familie March zu sehen.

Hier ein paar Infos über die herrlichen Golfplätze in der Nähe.

Golf Son Servera: Green fee 9 Loch: 40 Euro am Tag, 18 Loch 60 Euro am Tag. Genaue Infos unter: www.golfsonservera.com. Das besondere hier ist die hervorragende Arbeit mit Kindern und Jugendlichen.

Golf Capdepera: Das besondere an diesem Platz ist unter anderem das Restaurant!